The 2020 American Music Awards: Nominee Rundown

The 2020 AMAs nominees are here

2020 began with a bang, as the whole world faced an oncoming global pandemic. And, now, 2020 is set to end with a bang, with a roster of back-to-back award shows. And, on that list are the 2020 American Music Awards (AMAs). The all-encompassing, US centric award show just revealed their extensive nominee list for the year. And, this year’s rundown is an eventful one.

The Weeknd and Roddy Ricch Score Big

Leading the pack at this year’s American Music Awards are The Weeknd and Roddy Ricch, who both scored a total of 8 nods each. Both artists are up for Artist of the Year. Further, Ricch scored nominations for New Artist of the Year, Best Collaboration (Rockstar with DaBaby), and Favourite Song (‘The Box’). The Weeknd, too soars high, as he scored nominations in some of the biggest categories this year. The ‘Blinding Lights’ hitmaker is up for Favourite Music Video, Favourite Male Artist – Pop/Rock, and Favourite Album – Pop/Rock (“After Hours”).

Honourable Mentions

Further, Megan Thee Stallion follows in closely with a total of 5 nominations this year. The rap megastar bagged nominations for New Artist of the Year, Favourite Collaboration of the Year (‘WAP’ with Cardi B), and Favourite Female Artist – Rap/ HipHop. In addition, fellow New Artist of the Year nominee and rapper, Doja Cat comes in hot with a total of 4 nominations. The ‘Like That’ hitmaker is up for Favourite Music Video (‘Say So’), Favourite Female Artist – Soul/ R&B and Favourite Album – Soul/ R&B (“Hot Pink”).

A World of Possibilities

Other multi-category nominees include Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift, Lady Gaga and DaBaby. Moreover, Taylor Swift and Justin Bieber may make history as 5 and 4 time winners each in their respective categories. Further, British stars, Dua Lipa (Favourite Female Artist – Pop/Rock) and Harry Styles (Favourite Album – Pop/ Rock: “Fine Line”) make a welcome appearance scoring major nominations at this year’s AMAs.

The 2020 American Music Awards are all set to take place on the 22nd of November.

By: Ahalya Narayanan