Inductees For The 2020 Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame

The Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame is welcoming some new guests, including, Whitney Houston, the Notorious B.I.G, Depeche Mode, the Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, and T-Rex.

The six inductees were chosen from a ballot of 16 finalists including, Pat Benatar, Dave Matthews Band, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Motörhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden, and Thin Lizzy.

Houston’s inclusion shines the spotlight on the world of Hip-Hop and R&B. The New Jersey singer is one of the most commercially successful artists of her time, her vocal range has always been phenomenal and even to this day, not many can match up to her.

The Notorious B.I.G.’s career was cut short after he was fatally shot at the age of 24 in 1997. But his impact is still felt throughout the Hip Hop community ’til this day.

This induction ceremony will be held at Cleveland’s Public Hall on May 2nd and interestingly enough, these six legends have made their mark across the musical spectrum, from Nineties industrial, R&B, and hip-hop to Seventies glam and soft rock – they’ve manage to shape Rock & Roll.

Michael McDonald, who is being inducted for his work in the Doobie Brothers, spoke out about this, “That’s what I like to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame do: pick those bands that have sculpted what we see rock & roll as today.”

Even the Nine Inch Nails are entering the Hall after appearing on the ballot three different times. Trent Reznor, the front man of the band, admitted, “I’m pleasantly surprised to see us acknowledged. It feels pretty good … I’m allowing myself, for a limited period of time, to feel good about this.”

Well, it’s high time these artists gain the attention they deserve, because after all, they’ve played a part in moulding an entire genre of music, and that’s no simple feat.